100mph to zero in two weeks

Many of us live life in the fast lane. I’m sure you know the type. Why put off for tomorrow what can be done right now, even if it means working late or starting the next day early. Type A personality doesn’t go far enough. It’s more like triple type A personality. We’ll if you haven’t guessed by now, I’m one of those. In the office I’m sometimes referred to as TAZ. That’s the cartoon character that leaves a trail of dust in his wake when he enters a room.

Unfortunately I don’t consider this a character flaw, it’s just who I am. After doing this for so many years, it’s basically a part of what I’m about. Those that know me, expect it and those that don’t learn quick. Is it a bad thing? There are those that might think so, but there are others that seek me out. If you want something done right and have it expedited then give the task to the busiest person you know. That would be me.

So how does one slow down a person like this? Everyone needs a down period to recharge the mental batteries and clear the mind for new tasks that are just around the corner. Like it or not!

You could always stick that person on a plane and send him away to a tropical island for two weeks. The destination would have to have limited contact with the outside world and be tucked away from any reminders of the stress left behind. Well that is exactly what happens and it works.

Writing this blurb somewhere over the Atlantic heading home after two wonderful weeks away is an opportunity for me to prepare for what awaits me upon my return and also to reflect on how important it was to get away and to let the mind clear. I know the closer I get to landing the restful aura that I have will slowly start to fade. It would be nice if I could bottle this peaceful feeling and when the stress that will eventually rears it’s ugly head, I can open that bottle and let some calm out.

I’ve already composed the back to work “to do” list for tomorrow. Feels kind of strange putting work related items to text. The list for the last two weeks have basically been limited to. 1) take morning walk 2) check email and download daily issue of WSJ. 3) jump in pool 4) quiet breakfast with my lovely wife, Linda on private deck overlooking the Caribbean sea 5) claim a beach hut 6) soak up sun 7) read for enjoyment 8 ) head to gym 9) quiet time back at villa which does include a cocktail 10) peaceful romantic dinner sitting near the water 11) good peaceful night sleep. 12) repeat tomorrow. Not a bad list

The best way to get back to reality is to be prepared. Each year I do this, it seems a little bit harder to get back in the groove. How long will it be before I say ” you know, I think it’s time to make some changes”. I guess we all yearn for a simple life. But the bottom line is we all need to work hard and then rest. So as long as I’m physically able, I will continue to find and pursue an enduring work spirit and ethic.

So as my ” back to reality” list is growing as Newark airport gets closer, I still have to reflect on my list from yesterday, especially #12. God willing there will be a tomorrow and many more “to do” list in the future.

Now returning to 100mph from 0 is a job for TAZ. Prepare for dust. Landing shortly . Fasten your seat belts.

Published in: on March 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stevemk1.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/100mph-to-zero-in-two-weeks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I got to say that you may be AAA type AAA type plus. I have never NOT (double negative) received an email reply or information when I asked you and quickly. For how busy you are;you always find time because you respect people and you manage your time well. I have little regard for people who don’t return calls or answer emails from people they know.

  2. Great blog, Steve, as usual. Always enjoy reading them. Can certainly understand and appreciate this one, especially. You’re absolutely right…whenever I need someone I KNOW I can count on, I turn to you. Thanks for all you do and welcome home. Glad you made it safe and sound.


Leave a Reply

