My social media folder is getting very big

About 3 months ago I decided to checkout Facebook.  I knew it was out there just wasn’t exactly sure what to do about it.  I think the fear of the unknown was winning over curiosity.  Well I broke down, the media finally got to me. I kept hearing Facebook this and Facebook that.   It didn’t take long for me to see what the craze was all about.  Within weeks I established my social network presence and I picked up all the lingo .   I created a company page set up ads, and even added some cool applications to my profile.

Well if Facebook wasn’t enough, I picked up Twitter, Linkedin, Yelp, Blogging and even MySpace.   I’m even teaching what I have learned to others.  What have I done?  Now besides keeping up with our corporate and association websites, various discussion  groups and forums and writing for publications, I have to actually manage a company.  I was always told if you want something done, give it the busiest person you know and it will get done ASAP.   This time I gave it to myself. Does that count?

To keep up with all this has required me to become a bit more organized than I usually am.   While sitting at traffic lights now you will see me with a hand held pocket recorder plotting out my strategies for the days ahead.  At my desk you will see not only my desktop but two laptops. Looks like I’m ready to broadcast for CNN. (Don’t get any ideas) .  I have also developed this habit to doodle notes on anything available at the moment.  The back of an envelope, the cable bill and even a rental contract.

At the end of the day, I have to ask myself. Is it worth it?  The answer is yes.  I find the high tech world of social media and instant communication exciting and fascinating.  I think I have finally met my match and found something that can move as fast as me.

Have anything new you want me to check out?   Bring it on….

Published in: on January 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stevemk1.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/my-social-media-folder-is-getting-very-big/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

